At the end of the nineteenth century a stylish fishing boat was secured on the rock. During La Belle Époque, guests could eat and drink tea perched six meters above the waves.
This restaurant which was connected by a walkway to a charming gazebo, typical of that era on the French Riviera, soon became emblematic of the city of Nice.
Following damage to the fishing vessel, in 1941 the architect René Livieri was commissioned to bring a new lease of life to the site, giving rise to the Diving Boards on the seaward side with a beach restaurant replacing the gazebo.
Many years later, following the closure of the beach restaurant, the Diving Boards were abandoned but kept a special place in the hearts of the people of Nice and its silhouette still remained part of the cultural heritage of the city.
Today, the restaurant Le Plongeoir strives to bring new life to this amazing location whilst respecting its history and enhancing its natural charm.