Our history

At the end of the nineteenth century a stylish fishing boat was secured on the rock. During “La Belle Époque”, guests could eat and drink tea perched six metres above the waves. This restaurant, connected by a walkway to a charming gazebo typical of that era on the French Riviera, soon became emblematic of the city of Nice.

Following damage to the fishing vessel, architect René Livieri was commissioned in 1941 to bring a new lease of life to the site, giving rise to the Diving Boards on the seaward side with a beach restaurant replacing the gazebo.